AAWE, Economics Dept, New York University, 19 W 4th St, 6Fl., New York NY 10012aawe@wine-economics.org

The Fellows of the American Association of Wine Economists selected five new Fellows who were inducted at the annual meeting in Princeton,
June 7-10, 2012.

 Julian Alston is a professor in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics at the University of California Davis, and director of the Robert Mondavi Institute Center for Wine Economics.  His recent work includes studies of the demand for wine and wine grapes, the economics of technologies and policies to mitigate damage from pests and diseases of wine grapes, and the role of climate change and other factors as influences on the alcohol content of wine.

Daniele -MeuldersDaniele Meulders is a professor of economics at the Free University of Brussels. She is a co-founder of the Vineyard Data Quantification Society.

Robert-PlasmanRobert Plasman is a professor of economics at the Free University of Brussels. He is a co-founder of the Vineyard Data Quantification Society and its past president.

Nick Vink teachesAgricultural Economics at Stellenbosch University. He is President and an Honorary Fellow of the African Association of Agricultural Economists and an Honorary Life Member of the International Association. He was President of the South African Association in 1991-1993, was Editor of its Journal, Agrekon, from 2002 to 2010 and Editor of Development Southern Africa.

Michael Visser, a Dutch econometrician who works as a CNRS researcher in Paris, was acknowledged for his work on wine economics (mainly on the determinants of prices: role of experts, sensory characteristics, and climate) published not only in the Journal of Wine Economics, but also in several leading general economics journals such as American Economic Review, Economic Journal, and Journal of Economics & Management Strategy.


The fellows of the American Association of Wine Economists, i.e., the five editors of the Journal of Wine Economics, selected three new fellows for introduction at the annual meeting in Davis,
California on June 26-27, 2010.

The following pioneers in the study of the economics of wine were inducted at a gala dinner at the Robert Mondavi Winery
in the Napa Valley.

John Haeger, whose award winning book “North American Pinot Noir” has become the standard as a scholarly reference of its subject, was acknowledged for a lifetime of informed writing that is soundly grounded in careful scholarship that retains its accessibility to a broader audience.

Robert Hodgson, who formerly taught statistics at Humboldt State University, and who is now proprietor of Field Brook Winery, was acknowledged for his path breaking scholarly work over a decade evaluating the reliability and validity of wine competitions.

George Taber, the sole journalist present at the famous Judgment of Paris wine competition, was acknowledged for his three books on the wine world written over the last 6 years which, taken together, establish him as the preeminent American wine writer of his time.